[201402 Nylon] Hong Jong Hyun – Eyes On Him – Interview

Hong Jong Hyun - Nylon Korea

There are two ways to look at Hong Jong Hyun. The powerful star model, the new star actor who comes and goes between TV and the big screen.

People remember “Hong Jong Hyun” for fashion programs more than for my films or dramas. “Petorialist” and “Style Log” which ended recently are on everyone’s lips. I often heard that my dog Heron (sp?) and I look alike. I think my next project will be a drama. I hope the audience will remember me through this drama.

It’s surprising how people are often mistaken about me. It’s really great that they think of me as someone outgoing. In real life, I’m awfully shy around strangers, so I don’t easily get close to people I meet for the first time. When people work on TV programs, the introvert usually become extrovert, in my case, I feel like I’ve become even quieter. It’s because of the stress, maybe? That’s why I found that one thing I can focus on. When I work out to the point to sweat like crazy sometimes, I get no miscellaneous thoughts.

The thing I worry about the most these days is
work. I’m an impatient person, so when I try something new, I want to accomplish this thing real fast. For instance, when I go to an audition, if I suck, it’s only natural not to pass. I keep thinking “even if it’s just a little, I want to do well fast” and that gives me a lot of stress. I turn 25 this year. My mind is all entangled because I know I have to go to the army too.

Because I’m an impatient person, when I want something, I can’t wait and I just go buy it. I do know it’s cheaper when you buy online, but still I can’t bear the waiting part. But that’s not just me. Other people are this way too, right? Strangely, am I the only one this makes look bad?

When I have too many thoughts, I can’t sleep. Usually, I’d lie on my bed and it’d take a long time before I fall asleep. The moments I look haggard is when I’m tired. I’m not the type to make sure I eat my meals on time, so even if I don’t eat properly, I’m okay. But when I’m tired, I just become haggard.

When something doesn’t go the way I want to, I don’t care. When I was a kid, I ignorantly asked for the impossible. At some point, I realized that there would be much more things in my life that wouldn’t go my way. Nowadays, I just tell myself “looks like it doesn’t go the way I want to” and I get over it.

The reason I find soccer fascinating is more because I’m all thumbs than because it’s a way for me to release stress. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve never really enjoyed things I needed to use my hands for. People look at me and think I must be good at playing basketball because I’m tall, but to be honest, I have no interest in basketball. When I’m running until I can’t breathe, when I’m kicking a ball with all my strength, I become happy.

My real birthday is February 2nd. On my profile, it’s written January 7th and people often misunderstand. A few days ago, I received many texts wishing me a happy birthday, but I didn’t know how to tell them it wasn’t the real day, so I just thanked them.

The most memorable gift I’ve received so far is a painting/drawing of my face. I also remember the interesting sculpture of my face that my friends majoring in art made and sent me. Food and hotpacks are the two things I received the most.

The thing I treasure the most is my leather jacket as in I think it’s great and I enjoy wearing it. It’s not the dressing-up style, it’s casual. I don’t really care even if my clothes get destroyed or get ruined.

When I’m in a relationship, I turn into someone who gives everything to his girlfriend. When I eat or when I go on a trip, I think it’d be great to do this with my girlfriend. However, my style doesn’t dramatically change just because I say I’m in a relationship.

I don’t like people who talk too much. I usually stay away from conversations, I’m the type to carefully listen to what others say. Ever since I was a kid, I never really talked. I have friends who make me talkative, though. If anything, I talk about personal stuff with friends I trust. I’m extremely reluctant to talk about me to people I don’t really know.

What I hate is haughtiness. One can sometimes be envious of people who talk about everything without reserve, but I hate those who “pretend” and I don’t want to be like them. It’s hard for me to open my heart to someone who doesn’t genuinely think or care about me. I don’t easily talk about my problems. Wouldn’t it be hard for anyone to talk about something personal to someone who doesn’t take you seriously and just doesn’t listen?

Even when I’m asked a simple question, I can’t easily answer because I really want to give my honest opinion and share my feelings. I really hate people who speak for no reason because they can’t even remember what they said. At least, I don’t want to speak lightly during interviews.

From all the movies I’ve seen until now, the most meaningful one is “The Attorney”. Even when it’s a sad story, I’m not really the type to cry, but when I watched this movie, I was really overwhelmed. During the accident scene, I couldn’t keep it together and I burst out crying. Looks like I was touched by the sincerity these outstanding actors showed in their acting.

I have yet to find an acting mentor. It’s a question I’m often asked during interviews, but no matter how hard I think about it, “I want to look like this actor” or “I want to become like this person” are thoughts that never come to my mind. Will this change later on?

The thing I struggle the most with is interviews. When I’m asked something I had never thought of, my mind goes blank. When I was a kid, if a teacher asked me to do a presentation, my mind would go blank and I couldn’t really speak. Even if I did interviews, it’s been awhile since I’ve talked to someone for a long time. This year, it’s the first time I speak like this for such a long time.

Shouldn’t I go to the army in 1 or 2 years? Even if it’s late, I still want to go before I turn thirty. It’s not that I’m afraid or that I don’t want to go to the army. I want to buy a house to my parents before I go to the army, but I’m less and less confident that I’ll be able to do it.

My ultimate dream is to enjoy life. There are many things I want to try. First of all, I’d like to go England and see the premier league at least once. My goal is to try to accomplish every thing I personally want.

Original article: Nylon
Translation: @onesunnylady

One Comment

La parole est à vous

