[20131122] The Cohort – Hiphopplaya Interview

on

The Cohort

t/n: it took me quite some time to get around this interview because they use slang, sometimes English words that can be interpreted in different ways and each one of them actually fit the situation… I’m not sure I actually understood the jokes or references to hip-hop culture and history because they didn’t need to explain them, which is fair enough given the context. So instead of giving a translation I’m not sure of and because it was the longest article I’ve ever translated, I just left those parts out because they don’t make that much of a difference… I think? I’ll probably come back and do some editing because I’m really not satisfied with this one. As always, thank you for reading!

Hello. Nice to meet you. It seems there still isn’t a lot of info about Cohort. Can you introduce your crew and each member in a few words?

Jay AllDay: We are 8 members overall. One of us is currently in the US. We were scattered all around for awhile and it wasn’t until recently that we managed to see each other all together. Some of us perform, others create music, others take care of the organization side of the Cohort. We’re just young guys who have a common denominator about this and that and who live hard.

Until Orca-tape, it seems that a lot of people only knew The Cohort through Okasian and Reddy. How did you form the crew?

Okasian: It’s not that there was one specific opportunity. We just kept naturally seeing each other.
Jay AllDay: Okasian and Reddy were the first to receive attention, but we don’t care about who’s known first. If anything I think it’s a time to get wisdom first. It’s the same for Kid Ash and for the other members too. I mean that they will get recognition later on. It wasn’t like there was an occasion when we’d say “let’s do music together”. We were close, we liked the same stuff, so this is what brought us together. Like a gang. (laugh)
Okasian: It was like “let’s make money while having fun”.

So what was the starting point?

Reddy: At first, it started with GangGook and his friend who lives in New York.
Jay:  And the one who lives in New York also went to school with Okasian. So Okasian came in. At some point, Okasian and I got to know each other. After that, when I was in Japan, I stumbled upon a video of a guy rapping a French Montana’s song. It was so fresh. And it was him (Reddy). (laugh) So I talked about him to Okasian who already knew him. My discerning eye is…
Okasian: So I think this is how the members were naturally added.

The vibe I get from The Cohort is that your bound goes beyond the musical exchange or the friendship you can find in any crew. It feels like you’re sharing the same lifestyle.

Reddy: First of all, we’re not a music crew because we’re not a crew created to make music. Just lik you said, we like the same stuff, we have fun the same way, so it’s about us brought together because we feel the same way. It wasn’t because we wanted to make music.

Some of you make music, others do something else.

Reddy: Indeed. We also have people in charge of designing.

[t/n: Jay and Okasian make a joke about “honey bringing them together”]

Groups that share the same life style like Odd Future, ASAP Mob, TDE inherently made themselves a brand. Does the Cohort think about doing the same?

Okasian: We didn’t think about it at first. Now, we think that since it’s something we already do, let’s turn it into a business and make money. It’s not that we change what we do. It’s exactly the same. It’s like we work together, we think the same, we have fun, let’s make money, let’s share. It was like that.

I saw Coke Jazz’s jam session on youtube. I think you guys can be good in different genres.

Okasian: We don’t stick to one specific genre. Whatever it is, when it’s good, it’s good. When it sucks, it sucks. So we never run into a fence.

I think it’s not just the Cohort, but every crew is the same. Members usually go “this thing is good, but this thing ain’t my style”. Are there things you had to find a compromise about?

Jay: There’s a rapper called Waka Flocka Flame. So what I’m about to say might not have been true lately, but he’s a rapper I really like. But Reddy really hates him. I was surprised. (everybody laughs) He even went as far as to say it in an interview. I don’t know, though. If you listen to the album under the name Cohort, you’ll clearly hear the music that we enjoy. I like Waka Flocka Flame, he hates him, so it’s obvious there are differences between us.
Reddy: And it’s great that we have different tastes. There’s no way we can all have the same taste. We have things in common. However, there may be things I like but Okasian hates.
Okasian: To be honest, it’s something that I think about when we do interviews because we’re asked about it, but it’s not something I usually think about. I don’t know about the others.

What do you guys think?

Reddy: Instead of concern, I’d say it’s more like each of us respect what the others like. We don’t really talk about that. If we like something, we like it. There’s no “I like this coffe, so why do you hate it?”. We just throw it away and we won’t take it next time. (laugh)
Jay: I think being a crew is a good thing. If I hadn’t been in this crew, if there had been someone with a personality completely opposite from mine, I would have been like “why is this jerk acting like that?” and I would have hated him and I wouldn’t have been able to see him. A crew is a group where you can say “this guy can think this way, so why don’t I like this music?” and I can try to listen to it again and reconsider things. But I still like Waka Flocka Flame anyway. (everybody laughs)

In that case, what are the things you have in common that make the Cohort unique?

Okasian: It’s not about what kind of artist or what kind of style. It’s about the music we make, we enjoy, and we listen to. It’s just the things we enjoy.
Reddy: You know, we didn’t get together because we make music and told ourselves “let’s do something together”. There was not this kind of intention, so this question doesn’t really have a meaning to us.
Jay: I think it was an important opportunity to meet each other. Like Wu-tang clan, we didn’t think “let’s play dirty”. (everybody laughs) We didn’t think in terms of “let’s try to do this style”. I think the common factor here is the “we”.
Okasian: What’s good is good, right?

“Orca-Tape” is the Cohort’s first official release. I know it’s an album that was left alone for a long time. When did you start really planning it?

Okasian: The very first time we talked about it must have been some time around summer last year. There was no spurt until March or April of this year as we slowly worked on it.
Jay: The spurt suddenly happened.
Reddy: We worked non-stop for nearly a month, we took a break for a few months again, we finished and we released it.
Kid Ash: There was some reorganizing too…

This comes out of nowhere, but I think a lot of people are curious about Okasian’s situation before the Cohort. I know about you coming back to Korea. What was your situation before “Orca-Tape”?

Okasian: I was doing good. I was busy making “Orca-Tape”. I was just hanging there. I had to go through some stuff, I was having fun while going back and forth.

Let’s talk about your legal problems for a second. Among the reasons why a lot of music fans used to be attracted to the hip-hop culture was the illegal stuff done by those who made hip-hop or the catharsis or the charm in a so-called macho way [?]. However, when incidents actually happen, there’s always a duplicity in moral standards. Okasian, you have also found yourself in the middle of something like that.

Okasian: It just happened. Well, I don’t think that has something to do with hip-hop. It’s just… I don’t know. I think that what’s more important than the legal aspect of the situation is finding peace inside my heart. It may sound like nonsense, but I smoked weed anyway and I got caught for that. I received a legal punishment. So it happened, I said it happened, and, except for this, I have absolutely no thought of apologizing to whoever you want for doing something stupid from a moral point of view.
Jay: I think it’s harder for him to talk about it because he’s involved, but I think like this. Everything you do is fine as long as you don’t bring harm to someone else.  Sniffing glue at home, or any weird behavior you might have, you’re doing this to your own body and that’s it. However, let’s say that you’re in that situation [t/n: he means if you’re high] you go outside and you stab someone. If this happens, you’re responsible for it. But that wasn’t the case here. Of course, it was a wrong choice, but I think it’s really funny to make it related to music. Just like you said earlier, when I first started listening to hip-hop, this vision of hip-hop was really appealing to me. There weren’t a lot of kids who liked hip-hop when I was in middle school. When you said you liked hip-hop, you were seen as a troublemaker… It was like you became a troublemaker. What I’m saying is that hip-hop isn’t like this today. Maybe because those who fall for hip-hop now are more into fashion? For instance, among those who like The Cohort, of course there will be people who like our music, but I think there will be also people who like us because they like our fashion style.
Okasian: Hold on. If so, I want to thank all of these people. I like them. (laugh)
Jay: I don’t know about that, but I just think you should bring no harm to others.

What do the rest of you guys think?

Kid Ash: I think exactly the same. You shouldn’t harm other people. Anyway, he received his punishment. I think there’s nothing else to say.
Jay: I think people talk about it because they really want to focus on what happened.
Reddy: But there are still people talking about this?

I wanted to respectfully asked the point of view of the musician related to this issue. As someone among those who enjoyed listening to “Orca-Tape”, there are many things I’m curious about…

Jay: Which one did you like the best?

You mean which song? My favorite song is “Pluto”…

Okasian: Wow~
Kid Ash: Yes…

Since you mentioned it, can each of you share his favorite song?

Okasian: “Pluto” is also my favorite.
Kid Ash: At the beginning, it was “New Seoul”, but after the mixing and just before the release, I think my favorite one was “Pluto”.
Swidea [Swidea was late and the interview started without him]: You don’t know me, do you? I’m Swidea. (everybody laugh) “New Seoul” is my favorite song.


(laugh) Did you participate to this album?

Swidea: I don’t make music, so I didn’t participate to this album. I’m just a listener. (everybody laugh)
Jay: He’s the friend we told you about earlier who is in charge of our outfits. He’s in charge of the visual too.

Isn’t Coke Jazz the one in charge of the visual?

Jay: Do people usually think that Coke Jazz is our visual?

It’s not that, it’s just that I saw that tweet…

Reddy: Ah, it’s just that I’ve been teasing him with this lately.

I see. (laugh) Other people?

GangGook: My favorite song is my song. (laugh)
Reddy: Me too. It’s “GangGook”.
GangGook: Oh, that was unexpected.
Jay: Because he decided this on the way here?
Reddy: (laugh) To be honest, I almost didn’t take part in this song. We received the beat almost at the last minute, so we also got together in the studio to write the lyrics that day. It’s something I remember. I like it a lot because I feel it’s a track that gave us a good conclusion.
Jay: I love every track. There’s none that I like in particular, but if I were to choose one, I think my favorite is “New Seoul”. When I listened to “New Seoul”, I feel like it’s the song that reflects our style the most.  “Pluto” is good too. When we sing “New Seoul” in concert, I think it shows who we are right away. I think it’s a song to have fun, a song that can tell who we are. If you wonder what kind of group The Cohort is, I think it’s the only song you’ll need to listen to find out.

Do you all agree?

Everybody: Yes, we do.

Starting with the cover, I think it’s not an ordinary one. Is there a special meaning behind the album cover?

Okasian: Yeah, stylish… The meaning is that it’s stylish. It’s fly [t/n: he uses the English word]. (laugh)
Reddy: In the US, the word “FLY” means “to fly” and it also means “cool/stylish”. But to be honest, there’s something we’re the only ones to find cool, others look at a dolphin and can’t feel how cool it is…
Everybody: It’s not a dolphin. (everybody laugh) It’s a killer whale.

Who is the kid on the bootleg picture at the bottom?

Reddy: It’s our friend Oscar who is in the US right now. He met GangGook and they’re the first two members of the Cohort. Oscar does the overall work on things like the jacket, the Cohort’s outfits or the design.
Okasian: He’s the one who founded the Cohort.
Swidea: He couldn’t take a picture that day, so we just put this one there. (everybody laugh)
Jay: Let’s say there’s no story to tell here. (everybody laugh)

All the members didn’t participate to this album. This album was led by Okasian, Kid Ash, Reddy as the HOST MCs. Is there a specific reason for you to focus on these three?

Okasian: The three of us are rappers and it’s our only job. Jay-hyung also raps, but being a rapper isn’t his main job.

So, Jay Allday, what is your full-time job?

Jay: I just do a lot of things here and there. At first, they said they were aiming for a summer release, so I wouldn’t have been a part of it. The album got delayed, so the timing was right and I was able to be there for more than 90% of the album making.
Reddy: That’s because Jay-hyung was in Japan. He came back to Korea not long ago, so he was able to participate to this album.

“Killer Whale” is the keyword to represent this album. The overall feeling of this album or the occasional killer whale, the first time I heard the constant coherent context was through “New Seoul”, I had the strong impression that your album was structurally well-planned. What surprised me is when I watched another interview of you, there were actually more nuances like the album was true to your instinct.

Okasian: For me, it’s both things.
Reddy: Hm, I think there’s an order difference… We built up the album while making it. But like you said, we did some planning before we started working on this album, but it wasn’t just that.
Kid Ash: We didn’t paint the big picture in advance.

You organized things well, then. This is what I feel based on what you said.

Jay: In that case, I think we reached our goal, then. Now, do other people think this way…
Okasian: If we say they do, it will come true.
Kid Ash: So should we just say they will think this way too?
Reddy: Yes. Totally. (laugh)

So about the track set, there was absolutely nothing intentional from a concept persective?

Okasian: What was intentional was to show what reflects us the best. Marking this album with our personalities, our hobbies, our own style, I think that’s what we must have been worried about.

So the highlights of this album are the skit and the bridge. There are a lot of beautiful bridges like the killer whale documentary or the hitchhiking sound, the sumo wrestler ad lib. Is there one of you who is in charge of this?

Kid Ash: I don’t think there is.
Reddy: The sumo wrestler and things like that, it’s Jay-hyung who… He was a little bit drunk.
Kid Ash: He had had like two cans of beer.
Jay: I don’t know if I was actually asked to do this, I just did it. I wanted to do my song, but they said it’d be good if we had a skit, so I spat the verse and that’s what the result. Things like a sumo wrestler etc.

The Killer Whale documentary was fresh too. How did it end up there?

Kid Ash: We were halfway through making this album and we were talking and we came up with this idea.
Reddy: When you’re recording, you talk and you go like “it’d be nice to have something like this”. So that’s just what happened. We were talking and this idea came out. We made it come true.

I think that we only know by name the beatmakers who participated to this album. Tell us a bit more about Jan’qui, Skinny Mooxe and, Lee Joon Suk.

Kid Ash: First, Jan’Qui is someone I worked with on almost everything I did before joing the Cohort. When I became a part of the Cohort, we all naturally got closer and we worked together. He shot a lot of videos.
Reddy: He shoots videos, he also makes his own music. He’s the one who directed my music videos for “SE02L” and “Work” which is a song I did with B-Free.
Kid Ash: He’s very talented. He’s not just good in one field. Video, music, he can do it all. He’s a well-rounded multi player.
Okasian: He’s just an artist.

So what about Skinny Mooxe?

Okasian: We’ve never personnally met Skinny Mooxe.
Kid Ash: He’s a lazy Black guy… Can’t really send sections (laugh)
Jay: He’s a Black high school student living in the US. For real.
Okasian: He’s a Black high school student… I heard his music while I was browsing the internet. I really liked it, so I contacted him and said I wanted to buy his song. I’m actually the first person he sold one of his beats to. He had never done it before. (laugh) So I asked him how much and he said “I don’t really know, but… er… How much should it be?”. (laugh)
Reddy: Joon Seok lives in Kid Ash’s town/neighbordhood… (everybody laugh)
Okasian: He sent me the “Helium” beat through Twitter. But it wasn’t just me. He sent it to almost every rapper, so that makes like a few hundreds of people. He even sent it to people in the US. As soon as I opened his tweet, I listened to the beat. To be honest, when people approach me saying “please listen to this”, I never do. But this day, I just listened and I liked the beat as soon as I heard it. I told him to send it to me right away. The fact that I actually checked out this beat was destiny, I think. I think there was just something in the air that made me do it.

I personally enjoyed the wittiness and your style in the videos for the “Intro” and “Helium”. I watched them a few times. I know Kid Ash directed the overall process to make the video. Is doing videos something you usually enjoy?

Kid Ash: I do. I did direct the intro video. I was so interested in this field before that I studied it in college.

Are you the one doing all the collecting for things like the samples?

Kid Ash: I come up with a concept first. When I know which direction I want to take, Jan’qui-hyung and I browse the internet to find what I need and we collect what we find. I also do the editing.

I think this album put the interest on Kid Ash. I think the image you show in your song and your image in real life are very different.

Kid Ash: Really? I don’t know about that. I don’t know how it would be different.
Jay Allday: When I see him, he looks the same? Maybe, it’s just his voice that is a bit different.
Okasian: What do you think his real image is?

When I listen only to his music, I feel like he has a very strong energy… His image in real life gives another impression.

Reddy: When you get to know him, you see he’s strong. When I first met him, I also thought he wasn’t strong, but he really is because he knows who he is. He’s really strong.
Kid Ash: (laugh) I’m not…
Swidea: When he drinks, he’s even stronger. (everybody laughs)
Okasian: That’s how every artist should be, though.
Kid Ash: I think it’s only fair [t/n: to be different on and off stage]. There’s no one who isn’t like this, among those who make music.

The album “Orca-Tape” has consistency. When you listen to it, you can feel what’s special about the Cohort. It’s like the style of each one of you overlaps with the others’.

Okasian: But you talk a lot about trap being special, about this or this special style, but we haven’t shown that much yet for you to think this way today. We have much more things to show, so it’s very hasty to already have an opinion after seing one thing out of 200. The most important thing for me is to enjoy music. The best would be to enjoy it freely and not put a label on what we do.
Jay: I just wish people wouldn’t try to analyze what we do. If you take TDE for example, when I listen to Kendrick Lamar or Schoolboy Q, I just listen to all of them in a similar way. So, I do think that the average listener can listen to the three of us in a similar way. But on some parts, the flow is the same, the voice is the same, I don’t analyze it this way. As long as I enjoy what I hear, I don’t need to think about it more. Just like Okasian said, we have so much more to show than this one thing we presented. No matter how you look at what’s similar and what’s not, it’s our own style.
Kid Ash: I think it doesn’t matter if there is or if there isn’t this kind rind of reaction because we will show much more and it’s obvious you won’t say the same later on, so… I have no thought about that.
Okasian: The title of Pusha-T’s album is “my name is my name”. I think it’s true. So wondering what is the Cohort and all that, I don’t think it’s about the Cohort is this, Okasian is this, Reddy is that. It’s not that. The Cohort is just the Cohort. Okasian is Okasian. Reddy is Reddy. If you want to see more than that, it’s up to you. The point isn’t to control what you think, so it doesn’t matter to us and we’re not interested in talking about something like this.
Jay: We just hope that you look at the Cohort for what it is. We hope you will see a little bit more of what the Cohort likes and our style. Of course, each fan may like only one member of the group, but we hope that you see the big picture that we’re aiming for. It’s like when you look at a forest and you go “who cares about the rocks? How did the trees grow up there?” (everybody laughs) We hope you’ll see the blueprint we create.

But won’t the artist’s vision crash against criticism?

Reddy: Doesn’t seem to me that we have already receive proper criticism… Anyway, to each their own. When you write on the internet about your own feelings, it’s up to you. We don’t care about things like this.
Jay: To be honest, if you worry about things like that one by one, you can’t make music. I mean, in Korea.
Kid Ash: Of course, they might be right, sometimes. Sometimes, they’re right and we accept it. But I think it’s bullsh*t 99% of the time.
Okasian: Here’s a similar example… If you have a little bit of money, you should definitely buy Paloalto-hyung’s album titled “Chief Life”. I wrote some lyrics on this album. A lot of people often say things like “show and prove”. Whatever that means, if I speak in my case, I totally ignore this. I’ve never had any intention to show and prove myself. I just show you. We don’t do it because we must show something, we do what we want and this is what we show to others because good people know it and find out about us. I think this is the difference.
Jay: We’re not trying to prove something. We just do what we want to do. We like something and others can follow us.
Okasian: We’re thankful for that.
Jay: It’s only fair to be thankful for that. We just don’t think about turning over the opinion of those who criticize us.
Okasian: (laugh) Exactly. This is the most important thing. There’s no need to explain ourselves. We just say “ok!” and we go our way.
Jay: Who we are, while being like this and giving a lame explanation, this is really not what we’re about.
Okasian: It’s like the most important thing. When an artist has this behavior. When this person talks about how much of a good rapper he is, how well he managed to draw the big picture, I have zero interest about this person’s work. When they show this kind of behavior.
Reddy: When you do this, you’re not an artist. You’re just someone insecure about your own work. You shouldn’t show make up excuses for what you do.
Jay: If you try to adjust to each person who doesn’t like you, you just lose your own style. We just do what we want to do and we’re thankful if other people like what we do.

Do you usually share this kind of thoughts?

Everybody: Not at all.
Jay: We talk about these things when we do an interview, but when we see each other, we talk about clothes, girls…
Reddy: We’re not serious like this when we see each other.

In one of Okasian’s lyrics, there’s a line that goes “before you build your competitive spirit that is like fake courage, from your mirror, I control you” [t/n: or something along those lines. It’s the “spread the word” remix song, I think] I think that people were divided on the “Control” incident. Some thought it was a party, others were skeptical.Okasian, I’m curious to know your opinion about that.

Okasian: To be honest, I didn’t think that much about it. It just happened. Swings-hyung put out two songs, E-Sens put out two songs. Anyway, at the end of the day, I’m not talking about anyone specifically, but overall this event gave me the impression that a lot of people live without being able to control themselves. There had never been such thing like that before. So just because someone suddenly went off, everybody just went off and said eveything they wanted to say. This means they had been living with this on their minds all this time. It was already there.

What about the rest of you?

Jay: We can’t control ourselves. This “control” situation meant talking about other people, this fact itself seems to be a contradiction, so… Still, I think I listened to almost everything people put out there at that time.
Kid Ash: It was fun to listen to it at first, but I didn’t listen to the rest because it got boring later on. When I just heard the first “bam” of the “Control” beat intro, I just went “ah, f*ck that”. There was nothing amazing, but I think Ugly Duck’s song was cool.
Jay: I hate the use of the word “crisis” to describe the “Control” situation. You, me, we all have many things in our hearts that we want to say. If you don’t, you’ll probably think you’re defeated, so that’s probably why so many decided to do it.
Okasian: The young men’s game of truth… (everybody laugh) My biggest impression was just that they coudn’t control themselves. Anyway, that’s what I think. The first time “Control” was released, there were many reactions to Kendrick Lamar’s verse. There’s one musician who had the most similar reaction to mine. It was Flying Lotus. He wrote on this Twitter that “Anyone who felt they needed to write a response to Kendrick’s ‘control’ verse already lost.” This is exactly what I think.

I see. When I read Reddy’s lyrics, I have this steady feeling that it’s a fashion repertory. You even work in the fashion industry in real life, so you have even more punch lines. With lines like “put out your bangs, don’t wear a hat”, you draw a clear line about what you like and what you don’t like. I wonder what kind of style you hate.

Reddy: If you listen to “Commitment”, it’s all there. I wrote it all in that one. (laugh) To be honest, I thought everybody was exactly the same. However, my opinion is changing a little these days. Like, let’s say there’s a real ugly item. I’d say “Ah, people would actually buy that?” and a lot of people would actually buy it, so there were times I thought “ah, seems like I don’t have the same taste as everybody… Is it the public’s taste?”. In the end, if what I saw was ugly, it was ugly. We have a similar vision to those around us. I simply wrote about that. It’s not “don’t wear it like that”. It’s just “I hate this style”.
Jay: “Saying if you go there, wear this. Don’t say it’s hip-hop”… That’s quite straightforward.(laugh) I think my 16 bars in the Cohort album are a short version of what Reddy wanted to say.
Reddy: That’s who I am. It’s not about saying “wear hip-hop pants to say you’re hip-hop”. Even if you wear a suit, it doesn’t matter. However, I think that if you want to look cool, your mindset is the most important.
Jay: I mean, even if you look gay, you must show some pride. You must go “that’s right, I look gay, so what?” and you’ll be okay. However, wearing skinny jeans and make-up and acting like a real macho guy… Hm, I don’t think that’s what it is.
Reddy: That’s what I’m talking about. It’s about acting up to your own words. What you wear doesn’t matter. If you wear something, it must match your personality or the way you talk.
Jay: In the end, wear what you want with your own style and follow your own conviction.

You finished your first performance as the Cohort. How was the concert atmosphere?

Jay: It was crazy. It was hot. As hot as in a sauna.
Okasian: A few friends of Jay-hyung came from Japan. They showed their admiration. If we use their own words, they said the vibe was like a mix of Chicago and New York. If you mix Chicago with New York, you get the Seoul vibe.
Jay: They’re also talented musicians and they were really surprised when they saw us. Is it okay to say that made me proud somehow? Because we met through music and became friends and they came all the way to Korea to have fun, so we were able to show them what we can do and they left thinking “wow, it’s really awesome”.

I know you sell Cohort clothing in your concert venues. Do you have any plan to build your own merchandising company?

Okasian: Yes.

Turning the Cohort into a brand?

Okasian: Yes. But saying that I or Reddy-hyung, or Kid Ash who are rappers and will be fashion designers isn’t nonsense. I think you’ll see that the Cohort is just one. It makes us work together on anything about the group.

Either it’s for your individual projects or the group projets, is there something in preparation in The Cohort?

Okasian: I’m doing something with Kid Ash and G2. We’ll release a mixtape called “Brain Wash”.

When will it be released?

Kid Ash: It might be around January next year.

What kind of album will it be?

Kid Ash: Instead of going backwards, we’ll go with some kind of a Boom Bap feeling. It wouldn’t be making music like DJ primo out of nowhere, but more like a Boom Bap sound with our own style?
Jay: We hope a lot of you will listen to it. It’s very odd. There are a lot of things mixed with Boom Bap these days, it’s really cool.
Okasian: Just like the name says it, it’s like a brain wash. It’s a “everything you knew until now, we’re going to destroy it all” feeling.
Kid Ash: It’s just cool like that.
Reddy: We’ve already performed three songs in our showcase. The reactions were good. We’ll reveal also a music video before we release the album, so I think you’ll be able to judge for yourself.
Kid Ash: Yes. We’re planning a music video for 4 to 5 songs.

Like your Intro video?

Kid Ash: Err… We’re going for something further. Further than Pluto. Space. Somewhere where there’s absolutely nothing… (everybody laugh)

[Okasian makes a reference to the movie “Gravity” and how they’re aiming for “zero grativity” feeling in their work]

What about the others?

Reddy: I’m working on my album. I’m working a lot with Coke Jazz this time because I wanted a fresh feeling.

Why didn’t Coke Jazz come today?

Reddy: He was busy…
Jay: I don’t know about that.
Reddy: No. He’s really busy. He has a lot of workload…
Jay: You’re really taking care of him? You’re like the manager or something… (everybody laughs)
Swidea: No, but really, he has a lot of work. It’s hard to see him. Even for us.

Is Coke Jazz a full-time producer?

Reddy: Yes. Like a one-man band. He can play the piano, the trumpet and the guitar.
Okasian: Reddy’s voice really goes well with Coke’s vibe, so an album with them creates expectation.

Will there be a jazzy hip hop vibe?

Reddy: No. Not jazzy… Just listen to it when it comes out. (laugh)

I think I’ve asked all the questions I had planned. Thank you for the hard work. Thank you for supporting this interview. So to finish this interview, is there anything you’d like to say?

Jay: What I want to say is that it’s not about us being good or not, that you should be interested in us, but I hope you’ll wait to judge if you like us or not. I hope that you will acknowledge us first for the group looking for whatever it is we’re looking for. I hope you’ll see that there are guys like us in Seoul, that we work hard while we don’t let what others say get to us and we show persistence.
Reddy: The Cohort is the Cohort. Don’t compare us to anyone else, we just hope you’ll just look at us for who we are.
Okasian: Killer Whales bitch!!

Original article: hiphopplaya
Translation: onesunnylady

3 Comments Add yours

  1. iGleaux says:

    Thanks for this!

    1. onesunnylady says:

      Thank you 😀

  2. Cessa says:

    Going around and just saw this. Big fan of Cohort right here! \m/ squad shit

La parole est à vous

