[20140425] Park Ki Woong: “I gave up on drama offers for “My Heart Beats”.”

on

Park Ki Woong

Park Ki Woong will be going soon to the army. He’s wrapping up his latest projects and here’s a short interview he did for BNT.

The spectrum of your filmography is very diverse. What’s the most important thing when you pick a project?

It must be fun/interesting. When I choose a project, I think first and foremost about what can make this role interesting when I play. I don’t think I can show good acting if I don’t enjoy or can’t immersed myself in the role. However, I’ve been acting for a long time and a lot of my childhood friends are directors now. Right now, I also work a lot through my network of friends. (laugh)

If so, which drama or movie left you the most vivid memory?

Among my most recent memories, it’s KBS “Bridal Mask”. The filming was such a rough time that it’s unforgettable. There was this one time I filmed for 9 days and 8 nights straight and I didn’t sleep a wink. At that time, when I was monitoring myself, I was so out of it that I even thought “so is it the acting I showed?”. It was such a busy time that there were times when I could barely shave before going back to filming.

I didn’t have one single day of rest for the last three months of filming, so it was physically and mentally hard. Ah ! I also remember my first lead role in a movie. It was for “My Friend My Tutor 2”. I can’t really look at it because I’m embarrassed when I watch it now, though. (laugh)

When it comes to acting, there must be things you feel unsatisfied with.

Most of things always feel unsatisfying. When I do something, I think “I worked this hard”, but I naturally get this feeling of unsatisfaction as time goes by. To be honest, I think it’s inspiring because feeling this way pushes me to keep improving and broaden my horizons.

You’ve worked with many actors until now. Which actor was the best match for you?

Strangely enough, I’m the kind to work really well with actors. (laugh) I got along well with Kim Soo Hyun and Lee Hyun Woo with whom I shot the movie “Secretly, Greatly” and I worked well with Joo Won on “Bridal Mask”. We still contact each other and we’re close friends. What’s funny is that the fans probably feel it too because “m/m couples” topics keep coming up on fansites or galleries.

It’s been 12 years since your debut. You changed from “CF Star Park Ki Woong” into “Actor Park Ki Woong”. How did you break this prejudice?

Time and experience, I think. Of course, I had the desire to be good at acting and I made efforts too. I think my acting came out more natural as time went by and I spent a lot of energy too. I think experience and time were my biggest help. That’s why I’m also thankful to get the public’s recognition.

When people say “Park Ki Woong”, different images come to mind. Not having a representative image is a weakness. What’s your take on that?

I have a definite opinion on this matter. I want to be an actor who is able to interpret various images instead of being an actor limited to one image. Someone told me, “Take one thing at a time. If you have a fixed image, the character won’t matter and won’t people think about Park Ki Woong instead?” I couldn’t hate these words when I heard them. I aim to gain experience by playing different characters. This is how I got here today and this is the acting I want to keep doing.

You’ve been making yourself known through a variety program these days. How did you get to join SBS “My Heart Beats”?

My movie was doing well at that time, so I received many offers to be a member of a variety program. “My Heart Beats” was one of them. To be honest, I’m the exhausting type, so I think a lot and I research before I make a choice. I thought about the strengths of each program and also about what I could do well. I think “My Heart Beats” was the best project for me. More than anything, I felt this sense of duty that the difficulty of the work that these firefighters do must be shown. I thought it was worth the challenge even if it made a less bigger issue and had lower ratings than other programs.

What is your mindset when you’re shooting “My Heart Beats”?

“I must stay focused no matter what”, “Make no mistake”. This is how I feel. To be honest, I’ve been declining drama offers while I’ve been shooting “My Heart Beats”. People around me says “you’re offered a good project, so do it. Isn’t variety program make you lose your job?”. I’ve been working for 10 years while taking in consideration promises to others the most. I guess that made me unable to act in a shallow way. I never think lightly of variety programs.

There are many similar programs in this category these days.

At the beginning of the year, people said that things should be done like MBC “Real Men”. Still, I think if the observation-type variety programs become popular, it’s only fair you’ll see more of them on TV too. Isn’t this how a trend works?

Is there an episode you remember the most?

The woman who got her legs cut off. It was so sad and heartbreaking. I’m still in contact with her daughter. I was wondering if her rehabilitation was going well, so I personally went to Mokpo to see her. I’ll always be upset and sad when I think about it even today. At that time, I was worried that her guardian or the patient would be even more scared if I showed my anger, so I had to keep it together and it was hard. I even had a few dreams about it afterwards.

What do you mostly do when you’re not shooting “My Heart Beats” or when you don’t have a schedule?

I’m a part of a basketball team and a soccer team. Beside exercising, I like staying home. My nickame is “homebody”. I like spending time on my own at home. Sometimes I just chill or I read a book, listen to some music or play some games. I don’t really have other hobbies. I’m a boring guy (laugh).

Your enlistment is set for May. How do you feel?

I have no regret. I’ve been shooting a movie and I hurt my left foot, so I do worry sometimes that it’d create a problem for filming. There are times I also wonder if I’ll be able to get along freely with people 10 years younger than me. But I also have big expectations. Once I’m discharged, I think my acting will show a wider spectrum with the experiences I’d have gone through. My concrete wish would be to play a macho character that gives off this manly vibe.

Do you have projects until your enlistment?

I’m planning to keep shooting “My Heart Beats” and a fanmeeting in Japan is scheduled. I have a movie in the last stages of production. I think my schedule will be tight until the day of my enlistment.

Original article: bnt
Translation: @onesunnylady

La parole est à vous

