[20140627] Lee Sung Kyung: “Modelling was my vocation, acting is my new dream.”

Lee Sung Kyung

She’s bubbly and fresh. She’s associated to the image of a wild young girl. The overflowing charismatic and chic image she shows on the runway is nowhere to be seen. Laughter automatically comes to her enthusiastic reactions during the discussion from time to time. She’s model Lee Sung Kyung who is the one receiving the most attention in the fashion world lately as she received love calls from fashion designers such as Choi Bum Suk, Park Seung Gun, Kwak Hyun Joo, Go Tae Yong and, Steve Yoni.

It’s been 7 years since Lee Sung Kyung debuted as a super model. A music college prep student in her third year in high school, Lee Sung Kyung followed her friends’ recommendation and participated to a super model contest in 2008.

“I’ve been playing the piano since I was 7. Piano was the number 1 thing in my life. At first, I rejected their suggestion as I thought “how would I be a model?”. I was in my third year of high school. The entrance exam is a problem after taking a break from playing the piano even for a month. So that got me worried a lot. People around me said “it’s a challenge, why do you limit yourself?” and I ended up sending in the papers.”

Was Lee Sung Kyung’s destiny to become a model? During her school days, she revealed her natural talent that required no adjustment as she practiced through activities in Oh Rock Bu Jang and a dance club [?]. In 2008, she made the great accomplishement of landing in the TOP11 of Super Model. 2 years later, she ranked 5 at the Asia Pacific Super Model contest. For the next three years, she did some modelling on her own. In 2011, she signed a contract with an agency and began seriously working as a model. Between fashion ads, beauty ads, music videos, photo shoots, magazines, brand look book, she has been pretty busy ever since.

“I was very busy, but I enjoy working. It’s fun. There is absolutely no stress. I sing and dance on the set and I work while having fun. I’m working on my acting these days, so I had some free time, but I want to get back to work and be busy again. When I’m busy, I don’t have time to take a break, but when I actually have time to do so, I’m restless. Still, I’m enjoying this moment. I can see and talk to the friends I wasn’t able to meet meanwhile. I go to a coffee shop and I read a book, I work out. I think it’s like a healing time for me.”

During the 2014 F/W fashion week, she did more than 10 shows and perfectly expressed the style of various designers. Especially during the Go Tae Yong’s show where she was the only female model among countless male models. She flaunted her charm as much as she wanted and received the attention of the fashion world.

“The Go Tae Yong’s show was fun. It was special to be the only woman, but I was thankful and embarrassed at the same time. The fans told me I was the only woman. To be honest, I don’t deserve that title. I had always wanted to be a part of a Go Tae Yong show. It’s a brand that I really love and I was satisfied to do a show I love.”

Especially as her desire to be on shows was quite unusual for this fashion week because she didn’t know if it wouldn’t be her last time on a stage as a model as her acting debut was around the corner.

“These fashion shows are now a memory and thinking about how it could be the last time made it a touching moment. I even cried on my way to a fitting session once. Acting means that people will call me in a different way and see me in a different way. More than anything, I thought “I really enjoy working as a model”. I was worried more than I had ever been before. It’s sad, but I have no regret.”

Lee Sung Kyung had a new dream and will turn into an actress as she will play it No Hee Kyung’s drama “It’s Okay, It’s Love” that will start airing in July. In “It’s Okay, It’s Love”, Lee Sung Kyung was enthusiastic to play Ahn So Nyeo, a troublemaker high school student. Because she got in trouble, So Nyeo is removed from school. She works part-time at the coffee shop run by mystery writer/radio DJ Jang Jae Yeol (Jo In Sung). She coincidentally attends the same mental clinic where he becomes a counselor at the mental clinic she attends. She also meets doctor Ji Hae Soo (Gong Hyo Jin), who inspires her to become a medical student specializing in psychiatry.

“I’m shooting this drama with a thankful heart. I can’t afford to be cocky and I can’t be complimented. I don’t want to be someone to this drama and I will work hard for it. I want to be someone people can relate to. Jo In Sung who was a former model and Gong Hyo Jin-sunbaenim are here, so they give me strength and they help me a lot. I learn a lot when I’m on the set. The only thing on my mind is that I must do well as I get to work in these great conditions.”

Of course, Lee Sung Kyung is walking down a new path as an actress, but she doesn’t give up on modelling. All through the interview, she kept showing her love and passion for her modelling activities to the point one could say that she’s definitely a top model.

“I’ll keep doing my modelling activities. Modelling is something I really love. While I’m shooting a drama, I focus on the drama, but when the shooting is over, my focus will go straight to the Seoul Collection. I can get other roles after this drama, but I want to do even better in my modelling activities. Enjoying things without wavering and without having regrets, this is the best goal of my life.”

Original article: etoday
Translation: @onesunnylady – http://www.thesunnytown.com

2 thoughts on “[20140627] Lee Sung Kyung: “Modelling was my vocation, acting is my new dream.”

  1. You’re a blessing. Thank you for translating this. I usually read your blog but I really wanted to read this interview.

La parole est à vous

