The Sunny Town – Let’s Talk

STMD

Hey hey hey! What’s good? What’s popping? What’s happening? I’m back with another edition of the “Let’s Talk” feature. Summer is almost over… I mean, when August is here, it already feels like summer is over… And I don’t even know why I’m tripping over this because it’s been years since my life no longer revolves around these 2 months of freedom. I guess that this “yay summer is here” feeling you get to live with for like 15 to 20 years when you’re in school stays with you until the end. Anyway, let’s talk.

So The Sunny Town is celebrating its first anniversary this month. To be honest, I’m still trying to figure out what I want to do with this blog. There has been an on-going debate in my head about turning it into a full-English blog or to keep some French articles. I like writing and I like pretty things and one thing I’m sure of is that handling one blog is already hard enough for my limited html skills, so I really don’t see myself having a separate blog in French on French subjects from my French perspective. That’s actually the reason why I haven’t been posting that much French articles in the past couple of months. I’m afraid the blog is not enough organized and isn’t welcoming enough if there’s too much French… * sigh * I’m thinking, maybe I could stick to one day in the week dedicated to post my French articles? I’m also thinking about introducing (French) songs or movies that I like to the English-speakers of the blog, would you be interested in this? I still want my blog to reflect all the cultural influences I’m living with from the US to all the way to Korea, so anyone can find something that they enjoy. And the debate continues. Don’t hesitate to leave your opinion.

Speaking of my limited html skills. I’m sending out an S.O.S to anyone who knows his/her way around wordpress. For a couple of months now, I’ve been spammed by robots referrers (like semalt) and I just don’t know how to get rid of them. I know WordPress has implemented a flag system, but I don’t have this feature, so basically… I just don’t know what to do. These fake referres keep messing up with my stats and I’m not that sure Google analytics doesn’t list them either. If you know how and are willing to help, contact me, pleaaaase. You can leave a comment here, you can email me, you can tweet me, DM me on tumblr.

As you can see, the layout changed a little. Thanks to the lovely @thyrazine8 and her friend @xxind, I was able to add a brand new header. The sun, the laptop, that’s totally me. The cup too, although I’m not fancy like you see in the movies. I don’t drink coffee at all and I barely drink tea, so this cup right here would be filled of guava or fruit passion juice, my guilty pleasure.

So now on to what I have planned for this month: of course, more interviews translations. I’m getting around of my 20+ drafts as in 7 from 2013 or earlier and the rest is from 2014. I hope to be done before September rolls in. Of course, the Choi Seung Min’s dance history is still going.

Last but not least, thanks to the fellow WordPress/Twitter/Tumblr/Omona users who share links, I feel that a couple of you out there enjoy following this blog and I thank you so so soooo much for that. Let’s have another great year together!

2 Comments

  1. I understand, summer no longer feels exciting. At least we get to go to work with a nice weather.

    As for your blog, hmm why not having a home page with 2 big links like “English-language articles” and “French-language articles”. Then your readers will click on the one they want and only get the articles written in their language. So you keep one blog but divided into 2 categories. I know it’s weird when I say it like that, it sounds complicated I guess… I hope it won’t push English-speaking readers away.

    Sticking to posting French articles one day in the week sounds good. Like, your French-speaking readers will know when they’ll be up, and your English readers won’t see them mixed with English articles, especially as you have a limited number of articles on display on your home page. So you’ll announce the “French articles day” with a small picture or something ? Just to let the non-French know or as a reminder.

    I don’t know about wordpress, must be frustrating to deal with spam robots 😦

    1. 1st idea= sounds complicated to my little HTML knowledge BUT I think it is possible… XD i’ll see if i can figure out how. thanks for the advice ^^

La parole est à vous

