[December 2014 – Vogue Girl] Samuel Okyere – Mini Interview

on

Vogue Girl - Sam Okyere

Sam Okyere Born in 1991. Exchange student from Ghana and member of “Abnormal Summit. Reborn as a TV personality relatively more famous than Korean ones.

“Abnormal Summit” Turning point of my life. From “Gag Concert” and “Village Teacher” up to “Abnornaml Summit” now, shows kept coming to me as if it was destiny. I also think I’m the representative of Black people living in Korea. I promised to myself that I would gave myself 100% to anything I’ll do .

Nowadays, I’m playing an illegal immigrant in a movie. My character is married to a Korean woman and life is hard for us. Like Will Smith, who is my role model, I want to play comic or serious roles, I want to play various roles.

Ssangdumacha’s song is called “Fun Times”. I was featured on this song. We performed together on stage. I’ve always been interested in music, so it was really exciting.

The life of an exchange student in Korea wasn’t easy at first. My Korean roomates were introvert, didn’t speak, so it was frustrating. I tried to start a conversation and be purposely loud, but they never told me to be quiet. Then I forced them to eat “ppadalk” [t/n: chicken with green onions] with me and once I made that suggestion, we became closer.

I came to enjoy living in Korea during my 3rd years of college. My Korean was still bad and I didn’t drink alcohol, so I had no friend for two years. Then on the first day of that semester, someone who was back from overseas rushed into my arms as soon as we saw each other and told me that he/she went to school overseas and knew now how tough it must have been for me. We started spending time together, and I got to meet good friends thanks to this person. We joined a Black music club, although there was not one single Black person in it (?).

A month ago, I finally moved to a new place. From a semi-basement to a first-floor place with great sunlight. I have no furniture yet, but I’m happy. I want to throw a housewarming party.

One day, I will go back to my country. My ultimate dream is to become Ghana’s president. It won’t be easy, but there’s nothing one can’t achieve. I want to build schools, factories and help the poor.

This Chrismas, if I had gotten the chance to go back to my hometown and spend it with my family, this year would have been perfect… My older cousin is here with me, but I always miss my family. When I think about my grandfather, he definitely contacts me. Blood is really thicker than water.

Original article: Vogue Girl
Translation: @onesunnylady – thesunnytown.com

4 Comments Add yours

  1. whateverwha says:

    Comment dire…so much to say! Non, je rigole. Juste quelques petite remarques sur ce qu’il a dit:

    ” I also think I’m the representative of Black people living in Korea.”

    Quoi? OK, je vois ce qu’il veut dire, un TV show comme Abnormal summit a 8 blancs pour 1 noir, pareil pour la TV coréenne en général j’imagine, mais je pense pas que Sam Okyere soit un bon représentant…aussi drôle et sympathique soit-il. Il n’essaie pas de se détacher des clichés ou de les remettre en question. Et surtout il ne s’investit pas (à mon avis) pour donner une image attractive de son pays d’origine dans Abnormal Summit (ou alors c’est l’émission qui a fait un editing mal intentionné, je pense que c’est les 2 en fait).

    “My ultimate dream is to become Ghana’s president. It won’t be easy, but there’s nothing one can’t achieve. I want to build schools, factories and help the poor.”

    Really? He’s still a bit naive about some stuff. Etre président c’est être puissant mais c’est aussi être (très) limité par le monde politique et économique local et international. Il devrait plutôt devenir militant dans une association pour éduquer les jeunes, les parents ou financer des projets de jeunes auto-entrepreneurs locaux. Je salue son ambition tout de même et je ne doute pas de son sérieux quand il le dit. Il l’avait déjà dit avant.

    1. onesunnylady says:

      Je crois que la phrase est plus à prendre dans le sens “je suis la preuve que tous les Noirs ne viennent pas des Etats-Unis, tous les Noirs ne sont pas des rappeurs en tenue baggy et bling-bling” + “tous les Africains ne vivent pas dans la savane avec les lions”. Pour le reste, je ne regarde pas l’émission, mais je n’aime pas la façon dont les émissions coréennes sont éditées de façon générale, donc je regarde très peu d’épisodes complets. 😡

      1. whateverwha says:

        Je suis d’accord, après posté mon commentaire je me suis dit “mais je prend trop les choses sérieusement ou quoi? lol” J’ai mes jours où je suis un peu chiante (désolée pour le terme), je m’en rend compte après XD Mais j’avoue que certains sujets vont plus susciter cette réaction chez moi que d’autres.
        Quant aux montages des émissions coréennes je partage ton avis, je ne regarde que 2 émissions, j’ai d’ailleurs mis du temps avant de regarder un épisode en entier…

      2. onesunnylady says:

        xD mais c’est bien de s’exprimer. J’ai moi-même beaucoup tiqué sur cette phrase de “je représente les Noirs en Corée”. Le format de l’interview est bizarre parce que le terme “je” n’est jamais employé mais d’après les phrases, ce n’est pas non plus de la description faite par quelqu’un d’autre… Mais je pense que la tournure coréenne permet de prendre de la distance par rapport à ce qu’il dit. C’est difficile de traduire les étrangers qui parlent coréen parce que je pense qu’ils mettent des nuances en coréen qui sont difficile à retranscrire quand on repasse dans leur langue maternelle et vice versa. Parfois leur coréen ne reflète pas toute la nuance de ce qu’ils veulent dire. 😀

La parole est à vous

