The Sunny Town in 2014

on

Everybody is doing a year-end review of their blog… This year, I’m determined to be more confident about myself and be proud of what I accomplish. I know that what may look like nothing to others are small victories that should make me happy.

January (19 articles)

I launched the “Celebrity of The Month” feature with Lexy, 1st Lady of YG Entertainment. I was also totally Woobinified and it was my first time doing a complete recap of a daily soap opera. My favorite translation was Hwang Sang Hoon’s interview about his coming out as a bisexual.

February (25 articles)

This was the beginning of the Leesoohyukification since Lee Soo Hyuk was the second celebrity of my “COTM”. I also translated this Hong Jong Hyun in which he revealed his real date of birth. It was my first time that my translations brought new facts to a fandom. The person in charge of his wikipedia page even used this info. However, the biggest moment was when @babythyr helped me getting a “pro” domain name and get rid of the “wordpress” part. Girl, once again, I will never thank you enough.

March (21 articles)

Still on full Lee Soo Hyuk mode. I also posted a couple of YG-related producers interviews which I really didn’t think would trigger interest because they were from 2013 and even before. The new generation of actors holds a special place in my heart, so I translated some old Yeo Jin Gu’s and Kim Yoo Jung’s interviews. However, my favorite ones were the ones about Lee Michelle. When I see how her pictures get reblogged a lot on Tumblr, I feel like she has a supportive i-community of fans, but I’m a bit sad that her interviews are one of the less read posts on this blog in 2014. :/

April (22 articles)

I was so so soo excited to translate Yoon Mirae’s interviews for this third “COTM”. I love her so much. Without my knowledge, The Sunny Town was also under some Songjaelimification… It was my first time posting about Sam Okyere, Fabien Yoon and Sam Hammington. I also found out that British model Kim Sang Woo had quite a fanbase. I honestly can’t remember why I chose to translate this interview, why him because I really knew nothing about Korean models at the beginning of 2014… But it was my first Tumblr post to break the 100 notes. My favorite interview was the one Kim Hee Ae did for Elle Korea to promote “Secret Love Affair”. Someone (thank you!) posted the link on koalasplayground and this interview was the first time I made more than 1,000 views in a day. Until this day, it’s still my record.

May (23 articles)

I finished the Yoon Mirae “COTM”. Fashion designer Kim Jae Woong made his coming out on cable TV… I also translated a mini-interview Fabien Yoon did for Vogue Girl. I think it’s the Sunny Town article the most shared on Facebook until this day. Other than that, I don’t have much things to say about this month.

June (16 articles)

Once again, I was proven the power of the fandom about things that I really didn’t think would get attention. For instance, the Lee Jun Ki’s “Guerilla Date” recap that got shared on several forums. I was also very surprised by the popularity of the Vogue interview by ice skater Kim Yuna. I didn’t think anyone would read it, so I had just planned to post the first part and I forgot about part 2. One of her fans reminded me there was a second part and that’s when I realized that more than one person had read it. Last but not least, there was this Park Han Byul interview about her daily drama “Good Daughter Hana”. I had no idea this drama was so popular in Malaysia. Although it was posted all the way back in June, this interview remained in my daily most viewed articles until November.

July (24 articles)

I fell for Eddy Kim. Now, don’t get me wrong. No one can beat Taeyang, Gummy and Yoon Mirae in my heart, but I swear it was my first time spinning a Korean album (not made by one of these three) so much since I started listening to Korean music 9 years ago. Eddy Kim rocked my world. I also launched the “Choi Seung Min’s dance history” for my summer feature.

August (21 articles)

I really had to focus on my job at that time. So the “Choi Seung Min’s dance history” was pretty much 90% of what was posted that month. I managed to squeeze in a Song Jae Lim’s, Loco’s and Mad Clown’s interview.

September (23 articles)

It was the end of the “Choi Seung Min’s Dance history”. Okay, let’s be honest. It was probably my biggest disappointement of 2014… Oh, well. * shrug * I wanted to recap of “Sisterhood of Hip-Hop”. Problem is, there were only 8 episodes. When I started working on episode 3, the show was over and I was not motivated to write more about it.

October (8 articles)

I got sick pretty bad, but I still had to go to work. Hence, the lack of translations that month. I still managed to translate a Kim So Hyun’s and Yeo Jin Gu’s interview. Told you the young generation has a special place in my heart.

November (12 articles)

I felt a little better, but I was still quite exhausted. I noticed that Lee Guk Joo seemed to gain popularity among i-fans, so I decided to read about her and couldn’t find much. Therefore, I posted 2 translations about her that month.

December (19 articles)

I really tried to post some of my oldest drafts. That’s why there were so many models interview translations. Turned out that I’m still pretty much Woobinified.

Now I can say it, I was planning to stop the blog starting from January 2015, but some people I got to talk to through Twitter or who left comments here made me realize that The Sunny Town does make me happy. In these past 12 months, my Korean improved in a way that I didn’t think was possible. I’m far from being fluent like… I definitely can’t have a blog in Korean like I do in Englih for instance, but I’m feeling like all those years of going crazy over one single word or grammar structure are paying off. Thank you for supporting the Sunny Town, sharing links, commenting, despite my mistakes and my, sometimes, weird English. 😀 Let’s make 2015 a great year!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. kfangirl says:

    That’s a LOT of articles that you’ve work on for your site, and I for one am happy and somewhat relieved that you won’t be stopping like you originally intended. Your site provides rare translated interviews for fans all over the world, and that’s very precious indeed. Thank you for all your dedication and hard work! Fighting~!! 🙂

    1. onesunnylady says:

      Thank you! I’ll keep your words in mind whenever I feel like “who cares about this singer or this actor?” 😀

  2. Jess says:

    October seemed to be a tough month for you but I’m glad you came back healthy. And I’m really glad to hear you still enjoy working on the blog! Thanks for translating, as always! Happy New Year!

    1. onesunnylady says:

      Fun fact. It was the month with the lowest number of articles but with the biggest number of views. Until now, I still don’t know how that happened lol Thank you for being supportive and sharing the YG links. I know you help putting my blog out there and I really appreciate it

  3. jandoe says:

    Happy New Year! Aw I hope you don’t stop – I don’t comment on everything but I do check out almost all the actor interviews you translate and love reading the model ones even though I don’t always know who they are. Thank you so much for them 🙂 Translating is a lot of work and time so of course I’d totally understand if you quit entirely eventually, but I also just wanna let you know that someone reads ya here!

    1. onesunnylady says:

      🙂 Kang Haneul is your favorite, right? Anyway, thank you so much for the support.

      1. jandoe says:

        Kang Ha Neul on top of so many others haha. But I’m really fond of him and Byun Yo Han right now :p & no worries!

  4. whateverwha says:

    Happy New Year!
    Glad to know your Korean has improved that much! I started a blog 2 years ago in order to imrprove my Japanese and other languages I dabble in or am quite comfortable with but I lack consistency and drive lol So I really respect what you do here, it’s awesome, please don’t give up blogging 🙂

    1. onesunnylady says:

      thank you for the never ending support ❤ question: te rappelles-tu comment tu as découvert mon blog?

La parole est à vous

