COTM – Song Chang Ui

Song Chang Ui

Oh.Em To the Gee, Gee, Gee, Gee, Baby, Baby. So, the Celebrity of The Month is back for its 4th installment. * clap clap *

For those of you who are new to the blog, the Celebrity of the Month is a special feature allowing me to fangirl for a month (or so) about a celebrity by translating interviews as old as possible (yes, that’s a hobby of mine). I started with Lexy, then it was Lee Soo Hyuk (okay, I wasn’t a fan when I chose him, but reading his thoughts got me paying attention to his career now) and then the one and only Yoon Mirae. After that, I had decided to stop this feature because I couldn’t come up with celebrities I like but with a relatively small i-fandom that could also enjoy reading interviews that hadn’t been translated before. Well, I have finally found someone! * drum rolls * It’s Song Chang Ui.

I think that most of i-fans know him either for playing the cute gay doctor in “Life is Beautiful” in 2010 or the director in “Heartstrings” the year after… OR maybe for playing in “Cinderalla Man” in 2009. Anyway, he played Dr. Frost in OCN drama at the end of 2014. I don’t think many people enjoyed it. I know I did and that got me taking another look at his career since I had been very fond of him because of “Life is Beautiful”… But come on now. 2010, 2015? The guy worked a lot and I only knew him for two of his roles. So I decided to go way back and it turns out that he actually had two big hits in 2007 and 2008… And so I was even more intrigued. He played lead roles, supportive roles, he’s also known for taking the lead role twice of musical “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”. And yet, unless I’m very out of touch of who’s popular in the i-fandom, I feel like he falls in the category of these actors that you feel you see constantly, but you know absolutely nothing about. And while translating interviews from 2008/2009, I feel like he wasn’t memorable before that either. He may look like a boring and quiet person (like me), but he was actually a heavy drinker and partied a lot in college (so not like me). Anyway, he has the male lead role in the new MBC weekend drama “Let The Woman Cry”. The show will start airing April 18th and that’s when I’ll start posting for this COTM. See you there!

La parole est à vous

