[20150413 – Donga] Meeting Hip-Hop – Cheetah

Cheetah

Hip-hop is enjoying its highest glory days in the current music world. On broadcast days of shows like “Show Me The Money”, “Unpretty Rapstar”, hip-hop singers sweep off the portal sites keyword rankings and their names stay high on the music charts. As the number of artists turning naturally to hip-hop is growing, a fast reversal in quality that is growing bigger is happening. As we can talk about a “Korean hip-hop renaissance”, the “Meeting Hip-hop” corner will present you various musicians that lead the over and underground scene.

t/n: this is an on-going series.

Outsider (1)
Pento (2)
Iron (3)
P-Type (4)
Cheetah (5)
Tymee (6) [I’m not planning to translate it because @tymeenetwork probably will]
DM (7)

○ No matter how hard survival programs are, it’s good to improve faster
○ If I can become an artist with a good influence on people

You never know when the chance of a lifetime wtill come. That’s why if you don’t get prepared to take it, that’s the way to keep your eyes open and miss out on an opportunity and have bitter regrets later.

Cable channel Mnet “Unpretty Rapstar” was the opportunity of a lifetime for Cheetah. If she were pressed down by the handicap of being a female rapper in hip-hop which is a musical category where they are just a few of them, the attention she’s receiving now could have become the story of someone else.

“So many things changed around me since “Unpretty Rapstar” is over. I get sponsored clothes, what I eat and even the way people look at me changed. While I was writing lyrics and working on improving my skills, I thought to myself “it doesn’t matter when, but if I can just get into the water, it’s on”. The attention I’m getting is way beyond what I expected, so although I did prepare myself, I don’t know if I’ll be able to handle it.”

Just like she worried, the attention Cheetah is receiving since the end of “Unpretty Rapstar” is really beyond imagination. First “SMTM”, then “Unpretty Rapstar”, others find doing one survival program hard enough, but she filmed two of them. This can show how much Cheetah believes in her talent and how much guts she has.

” “SMTM” was the opportunity for me to think about the aspects I was lacking in. These survival programs are hard, but the good thing about it is that they can clearly make your skills improve in a short period of time.”

Going on stage with the fighting will of the “I’m going to fight” feeling and not with the goal of being popular unlike others, Cheetah won against Jessi chosen as the most talented of this program and recorded the 6th and final track. Unlike AOA Jimin’s diss lyrics calling her a “nobody”, she’s now considered as a hot icon of the hip-hop scene.

“When I was offered to join the program, I didn’t really worry. My thinking only went as far as “which female rapper will join? will other female rapper join?” And after the first day of filming, I wondered who would be interested in watching this and reactions started to show. I felt like it was similar to winning the lotto.”

It’s time now for Cheetah to worry about what’s next after “Unpretty Rapstar”. That’s because, just like she said, if this program was the lotto, her status can be different according to how she will use this opportunity.

“I think rankings are something quite odd. People who are truly talented don’t always stay high in the rankings and there are people whose talent is questionable, but they receive attention. That’s why I’m trying not to rely on people’s expectations or interest because I feel I’d lose my style and I’d end up thinking a lot about what people will like.”

As her job is about being loved by others, she declares that she won’t try to figure out what people expect. Eventually, she’s saying she will captivate the audience with her personal stories like hip-hop would do, like a rapper would do.

“With “Unpretty Rapstar”, I only showed a strong image. There are still many sides of me to show. My album that will be released in the middle of May will have fierce songs, sexy songs. I hope to become an artist who can have a good influence on people through a music that isn’t confined into one category.”

Donga via Nate

Translation: @thesunnytown – thesunnytown.wordpress.com

3 Comments

  1. “That’s why I’m trying not to rely on people’s expectations or interest because I feel I’d lose my style and I’d end up thinking a lot about what people will like.””

    Je lui donne 2-3 ans avant qu’elle succombe au “mainstream appeal” et à la pression de sa maison de disques pour la faire vendre plus. C’est le cas de la plupart des artistes de toutes façons. Mais j’espère sincèrement qu’elle restera la même, fidèle à elle-même, bien que les gens changent donc au final, oui, ils restent fidèles à eux-mêmes dans un sens xD Je me comprends.
    Quand le buzz médiatique s’amoindira ou disparaîtra, je suis curieuse de voir quelle tournant elle prendra (musicalement).

    1. tout pareil. Je trouve qu’elle a l’air de quelqu’un qui a reçu du bon media training et elle arrive à faire en sorte que ça ne se voit pas. Oui, j’attends de voir ce que ça va donner musicalement. Pour l’instant, c’est encore l’effet “Unpretty Rapstar”.

  2. Ah, j’avais pas pensé au media training, en effet vu toutes les interviews qu’elle a dû faire.

La parole est à vous

