[September 2015 – Harper’s Bazaar] Sung Jun – Interview

harper - Sung Jun


The drama “High Society” is over. What have you been up to since then?
I went to Sokcho. I have a friend who has a house in Sokcho, and I had fun over there with my friends from middle school. We ate some sachimi while having a drink.

So did you enjoy filming “High Society” in a friendly atmosphere? The atmosphere on the set was nice, thanks to the fact I got along well with the other actors Uee, Park Hyung Sik, Lim Ji Yeon who are my age. Filming was chaotic because we couldn’t stop joking around.

I remember the drama special “White Christmas”. Was it your first time acting? Haha. When I think about it now, I was so young and cocky back then. At that time, I was just a student who did some modelling and I wasn’t really thinking about being an actor. I guess I kind of expected to be signed and worked in Paris and London and to reach the top as a model. However, I also felt that modelling was a job with limits.

Working overseas was probably another new challenge. I didn’t get into acting with a “I must turn into an actor” mindset. That’s why I’m very ashamed about stuff I didn’t focus on more. It was a new challenge and I wasn’t really good at it which became a motivation. I wanted to be good and a sense of responsibility came to me. I was very shy, but I think acting made me get along well with people, talk more. It changed me.

Things worked out well for most of the actors who played in “White Christmas”. I’m close with Kim Young Kwang, Kim Woo Bin, Lee Soo Hyuk and Hong Jong Hyun. We saw each other yesterday.

What do you do when all of you meet? We do nothing special. It’s nice if we do, but there’s really nothing special. We work out, we eat together, we drink coffee.

It’s been a while since you’ve done a photo shoot. How did you feel in front of the camera? Is the atmosphere very different from a movie or a drama set? Although they have some aspects in common, I think they’re different by nature. To be honest, pictures, dramas, movies, all creations are art. Directing is an art, writing is an art. If you can say that I feel like a silent paper puppet when I’m doing a photo shoot, I think I’m a wooden puppet that moves, a puppet who is given life when I’m acting.

Many of this photo shoot pictures focus on portraits because you turned into a photographer since you enjoy taking pictures. Is there another reason for you to like portraits? I like playing with the light when I’m taking a picture. I studied fine arts too. When I’m taking someone’s picture, I can create a new person through the light, so it shows my own subjective perception. It’s very attractive. Being able to take pictures using the lighting to create aspects that I see is exciting and I like studio work.

Which fashion style do you usually like? Is there a style you like according to a situation? Color sense is important. I think color and mixing styles express one’s personality. It’s not that I like colorful clothes. I care a lot about colors combination and my gaze naturally goes to opposite colors [?]. However, I haven’t really been into fashion lately, so I go for a comfortable style.

What have you been into recently? You seem to be interested in various cultural fields. You’re interested in learning how to play the piano and photography these days. Fashion, fine arts, you’re interested in many other cultural fields unrelated to acting. So are you not interested at all in varitey programs? I’m not confident enough yet. Variety programs can give you a mainstream appeal, but I hate the fact of being seen in a way that I don’t want to.

Do you have worries right now? I’m the type to be rather carefree but worry a lot when something doesn’t work out. I tell myself “I must solve this now”.

Recently, I watched the movie “Woman in Gold”. The story is about the restitution of Klimt paintings and it takes place in Austria. It made me want to travel in this country. I wanted to see Vienna and Salzburg. Do you have plans to go on vacation?
I’m planning to go to the US next month. I went many times to the East coast and I went to the West coast when I was a kid, but I’d like to start with LA because I didn’t get to go there. And I also want to go to Austria too.

What kind of roles would you like to play in the future? To be honest, I’m not greedy about a specific type of role. I’m more attracted to the project itself or the scenario than to a specific character.

So what kind of actor do you want to become? A good actor.

What’s your standard to define a good actor? It’s not an actor who falls into a routine and moves through his technique, like a robot. It’s an actor with sincerity who can go beyond the camera, beyond the screen and touch people in a way they can relate to him.

Harper Bazaar’s
Translation: @thesunnytown – thesunnytown.wordpress.com

La parole est à vous

