[September 2015 – Elle] Lee Mi Do – Scene Stealers [Part 4]

Elle - Lee Mi Do

The character you portrayed during this Elle photo shoot? I did this photo shoot while thinking about a showgirl who dedicated her life to dancing on stage. To her, her own job isn’t very special. It’s just one job among countless of other jobs. It was similar to my role in the movie “Red Carpet”. I played a former adult movie actress, but I tried to put the highlight on how professional she was rather than her being sexy.

Acting as a job is pretending to be someone else which is what makes it odd and fun.

Judgement about your acting? For a long time, the opinion my family had about my acting was something I was scared of but also anticipated. They perfectly know me, so even if my gaze or my breathing falter, they know. When tey saw me playing the villain in the drama “Unkind Ladies”, my parents said “you did a good job this time, you were natural”.

The Lee Mi Do the audience remembers is… Men mostly remember me as the disabled woman in “The Unjust”. Women mostly remember me as Son Ye Jin’s friend in “Spellbound” or the Crown Princess in “I Am a King”.

A role you’d like to try? I want to try a non-human role. Like a woman infected by a virus or a woman slowly turning into a werewolf. I’ve mostly played strong roles so far. I like acting that requires to use my body, so I’d like to try a role that needs to be expressed through movements.

A role you already played in filmography that you’d like to play again? The lead girl in “Oh! Beautiful Life”, a short movie I shot during my college days. It was a hip-hop musical and I introduced myself through a rap during a job interview. The theme and the structure were good enough for it to be awarded at the Women’s Film Festival in Seoul, but I was lacking a lot. And the handball player I played in “Our Finest Hour” which was a character similar to me. The fact that I experienced many failures to the point of overflowing with the ambition to win.

The image you’d like to show in the future? I don’t know either what I will be able to show you. It can also be what the audience thinks. If I were a forest, it would be like taking a plane and reach a high place to see the whole forest? It’s about discovering gradually what is within the forest?

Elle
Translation: @thesunnytown – thesunnytown.wordpress.com

5 Comments Add yours

  1. La parole est a mois!!! “Acting as a job is pretending to be someone else which is what makes it odd and fun.” โค She knows what she's talking about, our lovely coach Nam! ๐Ÿ˜€
    "I want to try a non-human role. Like a woman infected by a virus or a woman slowly turning into a werewolf." I don't know if that would be scary or hilarious, but i believe she'd do a good job in something like that! XD
    "If I were a forest, it would be like taking a plane and reach a high place to see the whole forest? Itโ€™s about discovering gradually what is within the forest?" Somehow, i like her point of view! Even though she may sound a bit specific on her point of view, she still has a dreamy vibe! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. 1sunnylady says:

      In this contexte, it’s “moi”. “Mois” means “months” ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m jealous. I can’t say nothing in Greek. Lee Mi Do really sounds fun.

      1. Ah, lol! Sorry, i don’t know why i wrote it mois instead of moi! XD Maybe the band Moi Dix Mois played a jedi mind trick on me! XD Nah, that’s okay, there’s nothing great about being Greek today anyway! XD Yup, i love her more and more in Sassy Go Go, but i had already seen her before in two more dramas ๐Ÿ˜€

      2. 1sunnylady says:

        she’s definitely a scene stealer. I only saw her in Fated To Love You… Honestly considering the way the K-drama industry, I wonder sometimes if it’s not better to remain in the supportive league but film many projects instead of being in the lead league which limits the actor to 2 or 3 projects a year. I remember the Count in Gaksital was in like 2 or 3 other dramas broadcast around the same time too. I was like “dude, I don’t even watch that many dramas when they air so why are you in every of them?” lol

      3. She is! She occupies a big part of my brain every time she appears! That’s a great thought, many distinctive and supportive characters or 2-3 the most leading figures per year? If the supportive characters are like coach Nam then i’m all in for that! ๐Ÿ˜€ “โ€œdude, I donโ€™t even watch that many dramas when they air so why are you in every of them?โ€” looool So true! XD Laughed so hard with the “dude” part accompanied by the question! XD

La parole est ร  vous

