[January 2016 – Cosmopolitan] Lee Sang Yoon – Interview

I heard you’d been wanting to travel for a long time. What did you think about Hawaii?

All through the flight, I had the “fantastic beaches of Waikiki and the free-spirited surfers” image in my mind. Of course, I was thinking the weather was always nice. However, how could it be cloudy like that for five days? Haha. I don’t know if it’s because I had anticipated a lot. Maybe the good weather was resentful at first, but it became better all at once. I had a bad cold when we left, but I felt much better on the 3rd day.

Your drama “Twenty Year Again” received a lot of love by the time it was over. I guess the mood on the set was good.

We had to pull all-nighters because the filming schedule was tight, but it was so strange how my body was able to put up with it well. I realized later on that I could put up with it because I was enjoying what I was doing. As soon as the drama was over, my body hurt a lot. I enjoyed filming so much that I didn’t realize how much my body was exhausted. The drama, the staff members, the other actors, they were all nice. We got along so well, so I was ease.

I watched you closely during the photo shoot. You were overflowing with a lively energy with other people.

I’m able to go on for a very long time with the people I get along with. I was an early member of my team. It’s not because I’m special, but I’m the type to concede to each person and to make sacrifices, so I think there will never really be a situation in which we can hurt each other and we will always enjoy being together.

Your body is better than what I had expected. I don’t know if you will get mad if I say that it was “unexpected”.

I really like working out. I’ve been interested into weight training since my 20’s to build up my body. Before that, I had friends who liked basketball and hip-hop, so I didn’t really wear tight clothes. I had no idea about what building your body was about. While I was preparing “Liar Game”, I started exercising to lose weight and have the right body to portray my character. After that, I started working out a lot. That’s why I have larger shoulders and a better body than when I debuted. After a celebrity basketball competition, I only did running with a waist injury. Because of the drama schedule, I couldn’t work out for quite a long time. I couldn’t because my body hurt once the drama way over. I must start again now.

Cosmopolitan Click here for part 2

Translation: @thesunnytown – thesunnytown.wordpress.com

6 Comments

  1. Aw. He sounds so candid and down-to-earth. I’m surprised he’s so frank about aching all over and building up his body! I’m really glad he’s getting more attention now, I’ve always had a soft spot for him. He’s got that clean-cut handsome, nice guy vibe that I dig ^^ Thanks as always, dear Sunny! 🙂

    1. I know? Celebreties usually don’t word it that way. They say it’s hard work, that it’s exhausting, but they don’t describe it with the word “pain” or “hurt”. more lee sang yoon in 2016 y/y? Thank you as always for reading 😀

  2. Thank you for the English translation of Mr. Dimples LSY interview on the January 2016 issue of Cosmopolitan Korea! But is this the whole interview?
    I read somewhere he talked about learning English coz he dreams of starring in Hollywood or something like that! Also he talked about living alone for three years now apart from his parents etc. Hope to read more articles about him this year! Thank you for your effort to translate news/interview about our handsome Cry Baby (his childhood nickname). Good job! Aja! Fighting!

La parole est à vous

