[April 2016 – W Korea] Yeo Jin Gu – Interview

It was your graduation ceremony yesterday. What did you do?

I read the script of the drama I’m about to start filming. I celebrated my graduation with ordinary stuff by meeting my friends and having a meal with my family.

“Daebak” is the first drama you shoot as an adult. Are you in a different mindset?

It’s my first project since I became an adult, so I think it makes it special. I’m trying not to take things too far and not to feel pressured, but it’s clear there’s a burden no matter what. I think stepping into the game with some kind of pressure won’t be a bad thing. I have the desire to do well.

Why did you choose to do a sageuk?

My only knowledge about King Young Jo was about his achievements or his relationship with his son Sado. I knew nothing about his youth. As I read the script, I felt that Prince Yeon Ing wasn’t a light character, I wanted to portray him. It’s a sageuk dealing with the gambling theme, so it was an interesting aspect to have a contemporary interpretation by using bets to deal with the dynasty story. I wanted to challenge myself from an emotional level by portraying a character which is a king who has desire for winning.

You’re about to enroll in college. What do you anticipate the most about college life?

I will enroll in the cinema-theater department, so I’m anticipating being with people sharing similar interests as mine. I want to discuss deeply about acting and art with my colleagues. I’ve met a lot of sunbaed because I’ve been filming since I was a kid, but I didn’t get many opportunities to meet my peers or people my age. There will probably be movie fans and theater fans. I’m curious to find out what thoughts people my age have. My acting style is based on what I learned on set, so I also want to fill up my theory knowledge.

In which moment of your life have you struggled so far?

When my voice broke. My voice suddenly changed around my 1st or 2nd year of middle school. It was when I had decided to be really serious about acting and my voice, which was something important for me as an actor, became weird… It wasn’t something I could control or fix, so it was really a difficult time for me.

But didn’t it end up being something great for you once you went through this time?

Of course, it can be considered now as luck and something to be thankful for. I wanted to cultivate it to turn it into a good point like a nice gift I would have been given. However, it gave me a lot of anxiety back then. Have you ever heard the voice of a man when it breaks? It’s hard to listen to (smiles). I hated listening to my own voice when I was monitoring myself after filming a scene. I talked less and it was so critical that my personality even shrank. I knew it would pass after some time, but it was still difficult to go through.

Photographer Jo Sun Hee said “how can a 20-year-old have a gaze like this?”. Many people feel that you’re more mature than your peers, what could be the reason?

I think it’s because of my voice and the fact that my skin is dark. People might see me this way because my features or my looks are thick and big. I don’t feel this young vibe even when I look at myself (smiles).

A few years ago, you did an interview with W Korea and we asked you what thing you wanted to do the most once you’d turn 20 and you answered it was to get your driver licence. You got it not long ago, so which place would you like to drive to the most?

I want to go to the East Sea side. I’ve been filming sageuk since I was a kid and I have been around from Gyungsung-do to Chungcheong-do, so it’s the only area I never really went to. I don’t want to go to shoot a project. I want to go to the sea.

Which kind of adult do you want to become?

I hope I will be able to confront and challenge myself a lot. There are many things I still ignore about the life I want to live, but I hope I won’t be afraid of failure and I will feel fierce sadness and frustration. These feelings could happen through acting, but I hope I will always have an open mind and these feelings will help me to grow as a person first.

The expression “from a boy to a man” is always following you around. What do you think about it?

I think it’s still a good thing. It might be a problem if I still hear it once I’m past my 20’s and I’m 30 or 40. It’s true that people see my growing up process right in front of their eyes. Isn’t this expression better than to remain at the boy stage (smiles) ?

Do not take out.
Do not screencap.

W Korea
Translation: @thesunnytown – thesunnytown.wordpress.com

6 Comments

  1. he’s a talented and intense young guy. it’s a bit alarming he’s that age! i get the sense he certainly knows that and quite enjoys it….haha
    i hope he keeps his tan skin, it’s gorgeous on him and i don’t really get the kent worlds fixation on whitening….have always found it odd. he looks healthy.
    i know we have lots of good stuff in store from him! 🙂 thanks for the translation!

  2. Looking at Yeo Jin Gu literally growing up before our eyes always weirds me out a little. Like, where has the time gone? How is the kid now exuding such a manly vibe? Isn’t he too young to be exuding a manly vibe??? XD He really does sound like a grounded young man, and I like that he doesn’t try to sound younger or older than he is. I do love that he’s looking forward to college and interacting with peers with similar interests. I love a actor who’s dedicated to his craft, and Yeo Jin Gu seems to have found his passion – and talent – early! I foresee lots of flailing fangirls in his wake, as he continues to grow more mature on our screens 😉 As always, thanks for your hard work, Sunny! ❤

    1. I just can’t comprehend that he’s 18 now. He should really go to the army early like Yoo Seung Ho did so he can fully enjoy acting in his 20’s. I just hope he will be offered good roles to make good projects and he won’t get typedcast. As always, thank you for reading and commenting <33

      1. That’s true, he should consider enlisting sooner, so that he doesn’t need to take a break during the prime of the typical leading man years like most other actors. Although, as a character actor, I imagine he’d be able to find interesting projects regardless of his age.. He’s got serious talent. How DID he turn 18 already, though? It blows my mind. 😛

      2. What I really like with his itws and other child actors transitioning to adult roles right now is that they sound very down-to-earth and with a healthy mentality and really not big-headed. It’s so different from the vibe you get from teen celebs in US. (I can’t speak for France b/c celebrities have little plateform to PR themselves now and our laws are very strict about teen and kids work in the entertainment industry so they don’t get media exposure anyway)

      3. Oh! What a great point! That’s so true.. He sounds very down-to-earth and grounded. Very unlike what I’ve seen of many Hollywood teen celebs. Not that I keep track, but I couldn’t help but notice that Justin Bieber got pretty big-headed, for example. He finally seems to be getting his head on straight tho, so there’s that! 🙂

La parole est à vous

