[March 2017 – Cosmopolitan] Lee Sung Kyung – Interview

DO NOT TAKE OUT
DO NOT SCREENCAP

What have you been up to these days?

I’m currently worrying about my body recovering from the drama schedule. I traveled with my little sister, but I’m
the one who must drive, so I couldn’t rest. My priority is to get back in good shape for my next role.

You’ve been busy for quite some time. How do you deal with the stress or the pressure when you work?

I was a bit stressed out in the past because I thought I shouldn’t let down those who have big expectations about me. Right now, if I’m unsatisfied after giving my all and going in 100%, I just acknowledge it and move on. If I can’t meet people’s expectations, I will improve and succeed in my next life. I think I will be able to thank those who were disappointed in me.

I saw this video of you uploaded on SNS. We see you singing a car while you’re in LA. You seemed quite happy. Are you the happiest when you listen to music, sing and dance?

Yes, it really relieves the stress, I enjoy it, it makes me happy. I want to sing at the top of my lungs, but I have a limit because I live in an apartment. That’s why I often sing when I’m driving all by myself. I do my own karaoke when I’m in a car. Haha.

I’m curious about your music taste. Which genre are you into these days?

I like various genres of music. When I’m at home, I listen to music all day along. I listen to music according to my mood. I usually listen to some cool music like jazz or classical music or piano melodies, when I’m in the mood to party I listen to some hip-hop. On filming sets, I also do the choreorgraphies of K-pop idols. This puts everyone on the set in a good mood right away.

 DO NOT TAKE OUT
DO NOT SCREENCAP

You say from time to time that you want to do musicals. Who’s your muse?

Hm…. Boni from “There’s No Tomorrow For Us” and Elle Woods from “Legally Bond”. There are many characters and musicals whom I like and I’d like to play. That’s why I said this blindly in the past, but now if I get a good opportunity when I’m ready, I will take on this challenge.

Is there someone you admire and want to be like?

It’s hard to pick just one person. I like this side of someone, I like this other side of someone, I find this side
of someone so cool. There’s one person that makes think “I want to become this kind of actor”, it’s Sung Dong Il! For the audience, he has this warm and friendly image. On the set, he’s the sunbaenim with gentle charisma. At home, he’s the thoughtful and kind dad. I witnessed this reversal charm up close and I thougtht to myself “I want to become someone great like him”.

When you need to recharge your battery, what do you do to find yourself again?

I take some me time. Its something very necessary for me. When I lived my family and I finished working at dawn, I
definitly went to a coffee shop for an hour or two before going home, even if I was tired. I get my thoughts in order while writing in my diary, while I note down random thoughts that come to my mind. I think it’s the moment that gives me the most comfort.

DO NOT TAKE OUT
DO NOT SCREENCAP

I heard you like taking pictures with a film camera. What’s in this film camera of
yours right now?

Pictures I took while in LA. Pictures of the places in LA I went to and pictures with my little sister who was travelling with me. It’s filled mostly with pictures of my daily life when I’m not on a trip. These are ordinary moments I’m very thankful for.

You said you wanted to rest. If you were given a month when your cell phone was off, where would you go, with whom and what would you do?

I think I would go on a trip all by myself. When I was in Paris, I saw how French people focused completely on having some me time. Just seeing them like this gave me healing. If I were given this kind of time, I’d like to go to a quiet town in the French countryside or to Norway. I would think only about me, I would care only about what I feel and I would rest as much as I want.

What would you want to talk about once you come back from such place? 

I must work hard and improve and then I would go on a stage to play in a musical. I also want to play in a good drama. And I want to walk the runway this year. I was too busy last year, so I wasn’t able to do one single show. However, I’ve put on so much weight lately, so I don’t know if it would be possible. Haha.

DO NOT TAKE OUT
DO NOT SCREENCAP

Cosmopolitan
Translation: @thesunnytown – thesunnytown.wordpress.com

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank You for your hard work!

  2. Moira says:

    Thanks much!

  3. Jusanne says:

    Thank you 😊

La parole est à vous

