The Sunny Talk – June 2017

Well, my last Sunny Talk was 7 months ago? Honestly, I didn’t know what to say. I was busy with work. My schedule was so hectic that I would fall asleep at 7PM and struggle to wake up at 6AM. Thankfully, this time of my life is almost over. Well, I hope. I will know for sure in a couple of days. I feel like I’m finally on the right track to find my purpose in life. It’s a good feeling. Meanwhile, I did manage to translate a few interviews here and there, not enough to my liking but enough to ask myself if I should keep going.

Hear me out. I know how for the past four years I would say from time to time that I was ready to give up then decided not to. I don’t know if right now is one of those times or if it’s for good. All I know is that every time it happened it was because I felt the blog needed something new and I usually came up with an idea. This time, I came up with nothing. Like I even struggled to find recent interviews to translate. I just don’t feel it anymore. Maybe it’s just a phase. I don’t know. We’ll see. Right now, I’m just going to focus on finishing the Cuvism interviews that have been in my draft section for three years. About 50-60 interviews. That’s a lot. I don’t know if I’ll translate them all, but I’ll try.

I don’t know if I told you. I’m working on a webcomic. I finished writing the script in April. Yay. The illustrator is working on the storyboard. We hope to upload the finished work in 2018. I will write the English version this summer. Speaking of writing, I reposted my mashup K-drama story on Archive of our own. You can find it here. I’m surprised the Rachel/Young Do ship is still going strong, although “The Heirs” aired like 3 years ago?

Well, that would be all for now. Thank you again for reading, commenting, sharing.

12 Comments

  1. I feel ya, dear Sunny.. after keeping my blog for 4.5 years now, I feel like inspiration comes & goes, and sometimes, I go through a spell where I feel uninspired to write for the blog. And then, inspiration comes back, and I’m back at it again. So I say, don’t force yourself to post if you’re not in the right head and heart space for it. I’m thinking there’s a good chance inspiration will come back – quite possibly when you aren’t as swamped or as exhausted by RL. Hugs. ❀

    PS: Your web comic project sounds amazing! You go, girl!

    1. honestly, i’m only counting on you now to keep me watching dramas xD so many streaming sites got taken down and i no longer have the patience to keep up with the new links, so i just wait for your reviews and then i go see if the drama is available on Viki. btw did you watch strong woman dong soo w/ Park Bo Young, Park Hyung Sik and Ji Soo. I’ve been trying to watch it four times already (just for Ji Soo), but I really can’t with PBY’s character… She must hide her superpower, I get it. But the whole aegyo girly stuff she does on purpose to look weaker than weak in front of Ji Soo isn’t cute to me. :/

      I hope inspiration for this blog will come back too. πŸ˜€ I dedicated so much time to it, I’d be sad to let go, but in the meantime, change is good sometimes… We’ll see πŸ˜€

      I’m so excited for this webcomic. And I’m thinking about another summer writing project (non-k-drama related… or maybe i can toss in a few stuff here and there xD)

  2. Dear Sunny, your website is one of the fews I’ve found that provides (high quality) translated interviews. Therefore I’m thankfull. Please keep up the good work, but don’t force yourself. I just want to let you know your work is appreciated. Cheers from Holland. :o)

  3. Real world can be so hectic and depressing sometimes that leads to depletion of inspiration and creativity. I hope you take breaks and travel coz it will definitely invigorate you.

    Thanks for your translations, I got to know more about my favorite Korean artists? Can I ask a favor? I do hope to read any interview about Lee Jeong Suk, Sung Hoon and Song Ji Eun.

    Goodluck!

    1. Hey there, sorry for the late reply. My main focus is celebrities who don’t have a translator team or that one dedicated fan that will translate everything. I know Lee Jong Suk has at least two fans like this, you will find them on Tumblr. I would translate more Sung Hoon’s interviews, but he doesn’t do that much interviews. I assume Song Ji Eun is the one from girlgroup Secret? I think they have a couple of translators too. πŸ˜€

      Thank you for your inspiring words.

  4. I really like reading your interviews, as Have A Nice Day said, they are really high quality. It inspired my to try to do interview translations as well! There aren’t too many people doing interview translations, so it would be a shame to lose one. But I completely understand about following another avenue. Perhaps you can post your webcomic on here from time to time as well? I love your site and I hope you get hit with a whirlwind of inspiration! Good Luck from the States! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you for your kind words :). Give me the link to your translation blog! I’ve been out of the Hallyu fandom, so I really don’t know who keeps up with interview translations.

      My webcomic will get its own page. Probably on Tumblr, we haven’t decided yet. I will drop the link as soon as the site is up. Good luck with your translations πŸ˜€

      1. We just started doing translation like last month! There are two of us over here (me and my hubby) and you are definitely one of our role models ^_^ . Our site is http://www.bah-doo.com. We love webcomics too so we are looking forward to yours coming out. ^_^

La parole est Γ  vous

