[March 2016 – Elle] Yoon Mirae & Tiger JK – Real love story

How long have you been married? 
8 years? 9 years? I don’t know how long exactly. JK– When we shoot couple special episodes for variety shows, we often get asked this question. It’s just that we have no interest in formal stuff, but they’re surprised and ask if it’s not indifference. Things are good between us.

The reason you decided to get married?

JK– My grandmother was the most precious person in the world to me. It might be because she cared so much about me, but when my girlfriend called me, she hung up coldly and she didn’t try to see her. However, when I introduced Mirae to her, she hugged her the first day they met. My grandmother passed away and I went through hard times after that, but Mirae was by my side every time. She’s here today.

The meaning of marriage 

JK– It’s contradictory to marriage itself, but paper ? It’s just the meaning for us, so we didn’t hold a separate ceremony. Because it’s more important for us to be happy every day rather than caring about what people think. People around me say women don’t feel that way, but Mirae thought exactly like me. Mirae– I really had no interest in a wedding ceremony or a wedding dress and stuff like this. Still, we gathered our families and took pictures together.

Wedding jewelry 

JK– I wanted to give her a diamond ring, but I wasn’t able to. I didn’t want to buy her a small ring, so I gave her a rubber band ring when I proposed to her. And I told her I would change it later with the biggest diamond ring ever. Mirae – Later, we went to a fantasy store in the neighborhood and I picked a diamond ring. The biggest one. Although it was a toy ring, it was pricey because it was a big one. However, I’m not greedy about this at all.

One good thing about marriage

JK– There is absolutely no difference between when we were dating and right now. We were already happy before getting married and it’s exactly the same now. We listen to music together, we watch movies togethers, we read books together, we walk around together. I like that. When people make themselves look better while dating and get married, conflicts happen when they reveal their regular image afte getting married. That’s not the case for us. Mirae– Having a kid and raising a family gave me a sense of responsibility, but aside from that, everything is exactly the same. We’re like friends.

The secret for a couple to last 

Mirae – Talking as we watch dramas together, gossiping together. On days when bad stuff happened, going home and swearing together. That’s how we release the stress. JK– Sweating together. Haha. You know, exercising besides skinship. We do boxing together. On days when Mirae is really angry, I tell her to put on her gloves. As she hits, I think to myself “ah, Mirae was really angry”. And then it’s liberation for me.

The meaning of true love 

Mirae– A relationship that gives you no stress. Something that you think of in a positive way. JK– It’s easy to become cynical as time goes by, but I think true love is about a couple making efforts to  become more serene. It’s what is not delayed. If you feel something, you put it into action.

Symbol of love

JK– Jordan is truly the natural symbol. It’s childish, but music? Mirae– For me, it’s the food we eat together. We’re both busy, so it’s easy to forget to take care of our health. So any meal we eat together is a symbol of love.

Elle

Translation: @hesunnytown – thesunnytown.wordpress.com

La parole est à vous

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.